New to SQL

• Forgive me if this is a stupid question: I am completely new to databases and SQL in general. (Background is in networking, cisco related). I have some good resources which describe the commands and theory, but was just wondering how to go about practicing sql commands on a home desktop computer? I was thinking of downloading mysql ? or does Microsoft, Oracle have any basic versions which beginners such as myself who do not have access to an enterprise RDBMS, or even a database for that matter can experiment ?

• If you are looking for something that is free you can download SQL Server Express Edition.

http://www.microsoft.com/express/Database/

Although if you are really wanting to learn SQL Server I would suggest purchasing a copy of SQL Server Developer Edition. It has all of the features of Enterprise edition but only costs around $50. It just cannot be used for production purposes.

http://www.microsoft.com/sqlserver/2008/en/us/Developer.aspx

Regards,

Jason P. Burnett
    Senior DBA

• Look for express edition for SQL Server on Microsoft. It is free to download and since SQL Server is Windows (GUI) based, it would be easier to learn it. You have a lot of resources for free to learn.

Bru Medishetty

Blog -- LearnSQLWithBru

Join on Facebook Page Facebook.comLearnSQLWithBru

Twitter -- BruMedishetty

• I think the previous replies are great suggestions, but I just want to caveat something. If your intent is to practice to learn SQL commands that you can utilize in the workplace, I would suggest against downloading something like mySQL or Postgres. Most SQL vendors deply their own version of the ANSI SQL standard, and what you learn on one version is not always going to translate over to another version.

Joie Andrew
    "Since 1982"