Need some advice as to how convert reports to use embedded data

• I've been using SSRS, on and off, for about 10 years. I wouldn't call me an expert. In fact I'll prove that to you in this post.

One thing I've always done, when writing a new SSRS report, is create the data source and dataset as shared data sources and shared datasets. My reasoning is that, even if I don't reuse the dataset (I always reuse the data source), I might reuse a dataset down the line. However, I today I have made a discovery which blows my understanding out of the water. I've learned that a shared data source is saved in its own folder at the root of all folders in SSRS's report manager site. The same is true of shared datasets; they're saved in a root folder in SSRS's report manager site. That has, for me today, become a huge problem, due to my misunderstanding of what "shared" meant, in this case. I had thought that a shared data source and shared dataset were only shared within the SSRS project they're a part of. Not that shared data sources and shared datasets are global, through out all SSRS projects deployed to that SSRS server/site. This is a huge problem for us, as the DBAs have set up SSRS so that production, test and development (if its a part of that SSRS project) are all lumped together into one SSRS website/report manager.

You could argue that they shouldn't be all lumped together (and believe me, I'm going to), but it is what I've got to live with. The way I see it is we have 3 choices:

1. Identify some other server for test SSRS
    2. Maybe, if its possible, install another instance of SQL Server onto the same server, a named instance, if it will allow us to define a separate SSRS report manager associated with that named instance. (I don't even know if this is possible, but if it is, then that would be an option.)
    3. I've got to go through the process of making all of the reports work with embedded data sources and embedded datasets.