MSBI CERTIFICATION

• Hi,

I am a sql developer with lil experience on (SSIS,SSAS,SSRS). I earned MS SQL querying 70-461 certification recently. To acquire certification on the above technologies (SSIS/SSRS/SSAS) what certification i need to take? Im little bit confused.

• There isn't a specific certification for BI technologies: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/sql-certification.aspx

MS 70-463 is the BI exam: https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/course.aspx?cid=20463

• If you want to be a BI Developer, then you can either go for the MCSE: Business Intelligence or just take a certification exam 70-466 and 70-467 because these are BI related exam. However, note that, these exam requires you to know more about SQL server than just the BI aspect.

My best advice to you is go for the MCSE because you get learn and validate your skills about the SQL stacks and specialized on the BI technologies.

• Hi

I would very much appreciate some clarification on the following:

I understand the SQL Server MCSE: Business Intelligence certification is changing next year (31st March 2017), being replaced with SQL Server MCSE: Data Management and Analytics.

I am qualified as MCSA SQL Server 2012/2014 and working in BI, but am getting some conflicting information about which exams to take shortly in order to upgrade to MCSE. I would be interested in exams 466 and 477.

However, https://www.microsoft.com/en-us/learning/mcse-data-management-analytics.aspx states the steps to MCSE are:

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

MCSE: Data Management and Analytics

For 2016, this MCSE certification can be earned as follows:

Step 1. Earn one of the following Microsoft Certified Solutions Associate (MCSA) certifications:

MCSA: SQL Server 2012/2014

MCSA: SQL 2016 Database Administration

MCSA: SQL 2016 Database Development

MCSA: SQL 2016 Business Intelligence Development