Modeling XML data into SQL tables via SSIS - ID attributes coming in incorrectly

• I have an ssis package that imports data from individual xml files into sql server. in the data flow, xml source, it shows me 3 different layers, which is fine.  the 2 main layers that i care about have a bit of xml code that have IDs, like ID=2 or ID=1.
    I would have assumed this helps me tie together the data from the resulting 2-3 different sql tables so that I can properly join them.  

But the ID values from xml are coming in totally wrong.  they might be 1 or 2, but them come in as 5, or 3.  I can't quite put my finger on a pattern, although there probably is one which if I spotted it, would help me pinpoint the root cause....or conversely, if I knew more about the potential root cause, I would probably immediately be able to see the pattern.

I'm fairly new to doing this with XML, so please speak in simple terms to me.  Any ideas?

• pisorsisaac - Monday, February 6, 2017 9:43 AM

I have an ssis package that imports data from individual xml files into sql server. in the data flow, xml source, it shows me 3 different layers, which is fine.  the 2 main layers that i care about have a bit of xml code that have IDs, like ID=2 or ID=1.
    I would have assumed this helps me tie together the data from the resulting 2-3 different sql tables so that I can properly join them.  

But the ID values from xml are coming in totally wrong.  they might be 1 or 2, but them come in as 5, or 3.  I can't quite put my finger on a pattern, although there probably is one which if I spotted it, would help me pinpoint the root cause....or conversely, if I knew more about the potential root cause, I would probably immediately be able to see the pattern.

I'm fairly new to doing this with XML, so please speak in simple terms to me.  Any ideas?

Question, do you have a schema definition for the XML or is this a result of SSIS reverse engineering?
    😎