Migrating DTS packages

• Bare with me I am new to SQL Server 2005 but as a test I migrated one package and I do not see it anywhere in SQl Server Management Studio. I did save a log file and it said it was done successfully. So the question becomes where did it go?

I also opened up Business Intelligence Development Studio and it just opens up Visual Studio 2005 (which i have installed on this machine). I do not see where I can actually look at a package, only thing different I see about VS is I now have the ability to set up an analysis services database.

All my databases are still running in SQL Server 2000 mode. Do I need to upgrade database compatibility first?

I figured convert the packages then convert the databases since the SQL Server migration analyzer pointed out mostly DTS issues and only 1 problem with the SQL database engine that I need to fix.

Matt

• Well in order for you to be able to execute it or to see the package you just migrated, you have to connect to your Integration Services and you can do that on your Microsoft SQL Server Management Studio. Once you get the you'll get connected to your SSIS and then you will be able to see all the packages that you "installed" in that instance.

SSIS is a service different than SQL Server Database Engine Service and its objects don't really belong to a database they belong to the service. They can point to your different databases but that is a different story.

About the compatibility level, you don't need to change it, you can just migrate it to a structured file and then you can import it to your SSIS service.

Hope this helps 😀 in any way

• That helped. I did not realize I had to actually connect to the SSIS service. Thought it would have been all in one like in SQL Server 2000. I also played around a little bit in the BI Studio, very nice.

Matt

• I created a new package in the BI studio and imported it into SQL Server 2005 and executed the package and gave me some jaw dropping error messages.