Importing Excel data to SSMS

• I am very new to SQL and still just learning the basics I'm beginning to think what I am attempting may be a little over my head at this point but here goes. I am attempting to build a relational data base. Using the import export wizard I can manage to populate the tables but when I attempt to set primary keys within the tables it won't allow them (I understand that this is due to the fact that the Primary Key must have a NULL value for it's column).

So I start over. This time I populated all of my tables with their data and used 'Drop and Create to' in the 'Script table as' drop down menu to go in and include "NOT NULL" at the end of the statements for my primary key column in each table. after having done this in all my tables I went back to review my data and it was gone!

When I tried to re-populate the tables once again I got the "No NULL's allowed" error message.

So, I've tried setting my primary keys then importing data which results in error messages and no data imported

Then I tried populating the tables then establishing my primary keys using script to set their values to ' NOT NULL' which results in my data being dumped!

I am certain I'm missing something here, can any one give me a clue?

Thanks

ED

• > Then I tried populating the tables then establishing my primary keys using script to set their values to ' NOT NULL' which results in my data being dumped!

Which script did you use?

Need an answer? No, you need a question
    My blog at https://sqlkover.com.
    MCSE Business Intelligence - Microsoft Data Platform MVP

• Hi Ed,

Can you post your create script of the table, which column you want as your primary key and some sample rows that are causing the problem (just examples) so we can advise on best solution.

• My apologies everyone I made a mistake in my original post.