How to restore only the data file and not the log file

• I have a database backup that contains a mdf and an ldf. I want to only restore the MDF as the LDF file is trying to restore to 280GB. Is there a way to only restore the MDF file from the backup without using 3rd party tools? If i can get only the MDF i could to a single file attach.

Jimmy

"I'm still learning the things i thought i knew!"
  • Nope. A restore will always restore the data and log files and will restore them to the same sizes they were at the time of backup. You can elect not to restore data files (non-primary filegroup) but the log must restore.

Also note that attaching an mdf without the log doesn't always work. Only if the DB was shut down cleanly.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • i think that you dont know how to properly manage log files. you should read this one:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/2009.02.logging.aspx

• What you can do is lower the log file size on the source system, if it's appropriate, and then take a backup with a smaller log file.

Or get more disk space.

• Marcin Gol [SQL Server MVP] (10/10/2009)

i think that you dont know how to properly manage log files. you should read this one:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/magazine/2009.02.logging.aspx%5B/quote%5D