How to Optimize this SQL query of finding Duplicates for Better Database performance

• Hi All,

I am new to Database technology, I have come up with the below SQL query with the help of this Fourm Members.

This SQL query finds duplicate records present in dbo.Changes_DupCk table by comparing it with dbo.Changes and Changes_Frze tables. The three tables are as below.

1. dbo.Changes_DupCk

2. dbo.Changes

3. dbo.Changes_Frze

The work involves is every week, data from Changes_DupCk table has to be loaded into dbo.Changes and Changes_Frze table. But before loading we have to make sure that dbo.Changes_DupCk table has no dupicate record which is already present in one of the other two tables.

A Record in Changes_DupCk becomes duplicate if the requestnumber,suffix,AmountTypeCode, EffDate,ExpDate,Amount,AdjustmentType,AdjustmentStatus,AdjustmentUserId matches with a record in dbo.Changes or dbo.Changes_Frze table

All three have same table structure mentioned below

CREATE TABLE [dbo].[Changes_Frze](

[requestNumber] [char](12) NOT NULL,

[suffix] [char](3) NOT NULL,

[AmountTypeCode] [char](2) NOT NULL,

[EffDate] [datetime2](3) NOT NULL,

[CreationDateTime] [datetime2](3) NOT NULL,

[ExpDate] [datetime2](3) NULL,

[Amount] [money] NULL,

[AdjustmentUserId] [varchar](10) NULL,

[AdjustmentReason] [varchar](255) NULL,

[AdjustmentManagerId] [varchar](10) NULL,

[AdjustmentStatus] [char](1) NOT NULL,

[AdjustmentType] [char](1) NOT NULL,

[AdjustmentReasonId] [smallint] NULL

) ON [PRIMARY]

GO

The SQL query I came up is

WITH

cteGetAllRows AS

( --=== Combine all the rows as if they were from one table using UNION ALL, marking each row with a table #.

SELECT *,TableNo = 1 FROM dbo.Changes_DupCk UNION ALL

SELECT *,TableNo = 2 FROM dbo.Changes UNION ALL

SELECT *,TableNo = 3 FROM dbo.Changes_Frze

)

cteMarkDupes AS

( --=== Number all duplicate rows starting the count over for each row according to the PARTITION BY