Help me chart a beginners study course

• Hi guys, need some advice:

I'm completely new to databases and my goal is to learn SQL Server 2008. I do find this area of IT very interesting, I just need to figure out how to go about it. I have a copy of SQL Server 2008 Developers Edition. At this point I do not even know how to design a simple 3 table database with a couple of relationships and the right forms, queries etc.

Can I use say a book like "SQL Server 2008 from novice to professional" to learn SQL Server 2008 and basic database administration simultaneously? Or does learning SQL Server 2008 require you to know database administration, and what are tables, forms, types of relationships, how to make relationships etc ? And if indeed SQL server 2008 requires preliminary knowledge, what platform do I use to practice this knowledge? Maybe acquire a working knowledge of MS Access first?

I wouldn't mind hearing some stories of how some of you got into databases and worked your way up. Thanks a bunch.

• When you talk about tables, relationships, etc you are referring to relational modeling which are used in OLTP Databases (Transactional).

All relational Databases are based in the same concept.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Relational_model

http://www.siue.edu/~dbock/cmis450/6-relationalmodel.htm

The other type of Data Model is the Dimensional Database which is used for Data Warehouses (Business Intelligence BI):

http://biinstitute.wordpress.com/2008/04/28/dimensional-modeling-vs-relational-modeling-in-data-warehouse/

As far as learning SQL Server 2008, there are three tracks (since SQL Server 2005):

1) Database Administration

2) Database Developer

3) Business Intelligence

You may want to check out Amazon.com, query SQL Server 2008 and read the reviews.

Make note of the reviews and then check out the major Book Stores. You can query their inventory top see what they have in stock. This will allow you to make you own judgement.