Headline: spreadsheet data analysis system for beginners

• Dear community,

I want to ask you the following question:

I have a larger set of data. It consists of around 700 Million records (rows), each row has around 30 attributes (fields). It is mainly text, only a few fields are numerical.

The data is split into around 200 separate spreadsheets. The formats are spreadsheets xlsx/CSV.

I now want to analyse this data, by applying simple queries to this data .

Is there a system (user interface/ application framework) which I can use to  apply our queries?

How can I “move in” and “unify” all our spreadsheets into this system at the beginning?

Unfortunately, I am only a beginner in data management. So I do not have much technical knowledge yet. If there is any solution which is for beginners, I really would appreciate it.

Thank you

• This might not be real simple. Microsoft lists a bunch of ways you can do it though. Probably the easiest is using the SQL Server Import/Export Wizard in Excel. However, to really make this happen in an efficient way, programmatically automating it would be best. In that case, I'd look to the BULK INSERT command as way to get it done. Both those are listed at the link.

However, to do both, you'll need to have a database to put it into. If you're not ready for SQL Server installs and all that entails, you may want to look to Azure SQL Database as a much easier alternative.

Best of luck on the project.

"The credit belongs to the man who is actually in the arena, whose face is marred by dust and sweat and blood"
    - Theodore Roosevelt

Author of:
    SQL Server Execution Plans
    SQL Server Query Performance Tuning