Having MDF and LDF reside on save disk

• Hi Guys/Gals,

We're migrating to new servers shortly and I'm in the process of setting up and finalizing a new SQL Server 2008 instance. While I've never done any SQL Server migrations before, I'm no stranger to moving databases around to other SQL Server instances.

I have all of my migration steps planned and tested and everything looks to check out OK, but I'm seeing on our old production server that the LDF is located on the C:\ drive where the data is on the D:\. I've configured our new server to have both the MDF and LDF in the same locations.

For the sake of industry standards, does it matter if the LDF and MDF reside in the same folder? I can see the benefit in the case of a failover, but we already have a failover in place (VM Snapshots and Clustering). Or maybe someone can show me the path to the "perfect" SQL Server configuration 🙂

• Performance and recoverability.

With the log file on a separate drive, if the mdf drive fails you can still back up the tail of the log so that you lose no data. With both on the same drive, if the drive fails you're restoring to last backup + log backup and losing anything since.

Clustering is of no help against drive failures (shared storage) and last time I checked, restoring a VM from a snapshot with SQL in the VM wasn't supported by MS. Could be wrong on that point.

Gail Shaw
    Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
    SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability

We walk in the dark places no others will enter
    We stand on the bridge and no one may pass
  • Only thing I would point out in this case is if you have log file in the drive of the OS and for some reason the log file grows too large and fill up the C-Drive, you could end up in a very bad situation as well.