Full text catalog

• Hi all. I'm relatively new to 2005 and trying to come up to speed. I have a full text catalog that is offline, apparently due to moving the database from one server to another using dettach/attach and not moving all the appropriate underlying files. The database appears fine but we cannot do a full backup because the catalog is "offline". I know how to bring it online (bebuild) but I'm not sure of the performance impact - any thoughts? Is this similar to an index rebuild? Can the data that the catlog is being created from be accessed while it's being rebuilt? Sorry for all the questions but, as stated, just trying to come up to speed. Thanks for any and all comments.

-- You can't be late until you show up.

• tosscrosby (8/12/2009)

Hi all. I'm relatively new to 2005 and trying to come up to speed. I have a full text catalog that is offline, apparently due to moving the database from one server to another using dettach/attach and not moving all the appropriate underlying files. The database appears fine but we cannot do a full backup because the catalog is "offline". I know how to bring it online (bebuild) but I'm not sure of the performance impact - any thoughts? Is this similar to an index rebuild? Can the data that the catlog is being created from be accessed while it's being rebuilt? Sorry for all the questions but, as stated, just trying to come up to speed. Thanks for any and all comments.

Hi,

You should be able to move the Full Text Catalog along with the database without issue.

Has the file location of the catalog changed as this may be the cause of your issue.

See the following Books Online reference for details.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/en-us/library/ms142593(SQL.90).aspx