First occurrences

• Hi,

Below is the table and results I am looking for......i am an SQL newbie.

Game Play_IdTeam PlayerEVENT

1 1

1 2 A Frank3

1 3 A John2

1 4 B Michael4

2 1

2 2 A Craig

2 3 B Bill 2

2 4 A Tom1

the result i am looking for is the first event for each team in each game where the event is not null.

the result of the above would be:

GamePlay Id TeamPlayerEvent

12 AFrank 3

14 BMichael4

23 BBill 2

24 ATom 1

• hello, please try this code.

create table #tmp( Game VARCHAR(100),PlayId VARCHAR(100),Team VARCHAR(100),Player VARCHAR(100),[Event] VARCHAR(10))

insert into #tmp(Game,PlayId,Team,Player,[Event])

values(1,1,'','',''),

(1,2,'A','Frank',3),

(1,3,'A','John',2),

(1,4,'B','Michael',4),

(2,1,'','',''),

(2,2,'A','Craig',''),

(2,3,'B','Bill',2),

(2,4,'A','Tom',1)

select A.Game,PlayId,A.Team,Player,[Event] from(

select Game,PlayId,Team,Player,[Event],Row_number() over( order by Game) as Ord1 from #tmp where [Event]<>0

) A

inner join(

select Game,Team,min(ord) as ord from (

select Game,PlayId,Team,Player,[Event],Row_number() over( order by Game) as Ord

from #tmp where [Event]<>0

) A group by Game,Team

) B on A.Ord1=B.ord

Thanks

Sneh

• Going to fix a few bits first.

Firstly, to the above poster, the OP stated that they were using NULL's, not blank strings. I am also unsure why you have chosen to use VARCHAR(100) for INTs. I have corrected the CREATE statement as follows:

CREATE TABLE #tmp (Game INT,

PlayID INT,

Team CHAR(1),

Player VARCHAR(15),

[Event] INT);

INSERT INTO #tmp (Game, PlayID, Team, Player, [Event])

VALUES (1,1,NULL,NULL,NULL),

(1,2,'A','Frank',3),

(1,3,'A','John',2),

(1,4,'B','Michael',4),

(2,1,NULL,NULL,NULL),

(2,2,'A','Craig',NULL),

(2,3,'B','Bill',2),

(2,4,'A','Tom',1);