Find MAX value from multiple datetime columns

• This may have an easy resolution but I'm having difficulty finding it.  I'm creating a package that needs to take records that are new or updated since the last time the job run.  I have 2 DateTime columns Insert_date and Last_Updated.  I need records for newly inserted records and modified/last_updated records.  How do I accomplish that with a SQL script and how do I construct that script or conditional split.  I know I could use the MAX function but seem to only get back the latest Last_Updated records not the latest inserted records.  Any help would be appreciated.

• WHERE (Insert_date > @LastJobRun OR Last_Updated > @LastJobRun)
  • Thanks, Jonathon but I'm not getting any results.  I'm new to SQL and SSIS learning as I go this is the query I'm using in the OL DB SOURCE for the package:

DECLARE @LastJobRun datetime;

SELECT [ID]

,[SETID]

,[ACCOUNT]

,[ACCT_DESCR]

,[ACCT_DESCRSHORT]

,[ACCOUNT_TYPE]

,[ACCT_TYPE_DESCR]

,[BALANCE_FWD_SW]

,[BUDGETARY_ONLY]

,[INSERT_DATE]

,[EFF_DATE]

,[ACCT_STATUS]

,[LAST_UPDATED]

FROM [DCRPT].[dbo].[AMOUNT]WHERE (INSERT_DATE > @LastJobRun OR LAST_UPDATED > @LastJobRun)

• You need to set the value of the @LastJobRun parameter before executing that query.

Do you have this stored somewhere?

If you haven't even tried to resolve your issue, please don't expect the hard-working volunteers here to waste their time providing links to answers which you could easily have found yourself.

• I do not.  What would be the best way to go about that as a variable?

• dface_21 wrote:

I do not.  What would be the best way to go about that as a variable?

You might not need a variable and just use a subquery to get it.

Where is the value stored?

• dface_21 wrote:

I do not.  What would be the best way to go about that as a variable?

When the job runs, does it write to a log table? (Containing, for example, RunNumber, StartedAt, CompletedAt, IsSuccess)?