Files vs. Managed Tables - how data is stored physically?

• Hello,

I am quite new to ADL and USQL. I went through quite a lot of documentation and presentations but I am afraid that I am still lacking many answers. 

Simplifying a bit, I have a large set of data (with daily increments) but it contains information about many different clients in one file. In most cases the data will be analysed for one client (one report = one client), but I would like to keep the possibility to do a cross-client analysis (much less common scenario). I am aware of the importance of correctly partitioning this data (probably keeping one client data together makes most sense). I was looking into two scenarios:

1. I will partition the data myself by splitting the files into folder-file structure where I can have full control over how it is done, how big the files are etc.
    2. I will use managed tables and set up table partitioning

I am now looking into pros and cons of both scenarios. Some things that come to my mind are:

1. The ability to compress data in scenario #1 (at the cost of performance of course)
    2. The ability to build a much more granular security model by using files and ADL security (e.g. give access only to one client's data)
    3. On the other hand, using the tables is much more comfortable as I will be dealing with just one data source and will not have to worry about extracting correct files, only about the correct filters in a query - in theory USQL should do the rest
    4. I would expect that the tables will offer better performance

One very important factor I wanted to investigate, before making my decision, is how the data is stored physically when using tables and partitions. I have read the documentation and I found a statement that confused me (https://docs.microsoft.com/en-us/u-sql/ddl/tables):

First we can read that: