Difference between Ms Access Project (.adp) and Access database (.mdb) linking to SQL Server via ODBC?

• Hi, I have some experience developing an Access database for my department (but by no means a full-time Database developer). Now...as a millionth person on earth, I'm trying to upsize my Access database to SQL database, but get stuck at one early dilemma: Should I modify the existing front-ended MBE into ADP file, or alternatively maintain the front-ended MBE but instead link to all the tables on SQL server via ODBC connection? Both options are linked tables which reside on SQL server...Is there any difference? Pros and Cons? My most important concerns are the speed and the reliability of the database.

Thanks in advance for the advice.

• I have upsized several MDB projects to SQL, starting with SQL 2000 near it's original release date. I never felt that the upsizing and table linking was a 'big-bang' for the conversion bucks. This thought was confirmed when we started upsizing the data to SQL and the rest of the objects and code to an ADP. The ADP offers you native sql integration. You will see the views, functions and stored procedures you will be creating on the sql server. Plus you will be able to alter you forms and reports to use stored procedures, passing criteria via the parameters, allowing the sql server to return only what you need. 'Big-Bang' for your conversion buck.

It will take you longer if you have older dao code, because it will need to be translated to ado. But the payoff should be near future for you.

[font="Arial"]Clifton G. Collins III[/font]

• Members of the Access team and MVPs have adivised me to avoid ADP (and ADO) unless required because: MDB and DAO is a richer function set, it provides more flexibilty, and it is much less expensive (time consuming) to develop and maintain. ADP requires much more REAL programming to work around the more limited feature set of ADO.