Data Transfer AS400 --> SQL Server 2005 using SSIS

• I'm looking for someone with a lot of SSIS knowledge to give me their opinion on the best way to handle a scheduled data transfer from an AS400 file to a SQL Server table. In a nutshell we have "Master" data that is maintained on our AS400, and we would like to be able to use this data in a SQL Server database as well, so we'd like to have nightly updates from the AS400 to our SQL table to synch up the data. I'm trying to accomplish this with an SSIS package.

I'm new to SSIS packages, and sure I could figure something out on my own, but I'm interested in hearing opinions on best practices so that I might be able to avoid some rookie pitfalls.

I have been able successfully create an Ole DB Source for the AS400 that I want to pull data from.

Thanks!

David

• Honestly, you covered the hard part - getting an OLEDB driver to work with your AS400 can be a pain.

As far as copying the data, it will depend on the amount of data, if you can easily determine which records have changed on the AS400 side, and how long you have to process.

In simplest form, if you have a relatively small number of records (< 1M) you can simply truncate the destination table and re-populate it.

I like to avoid doing this as it creates down-time, so I usually try to insert new / update existing.

If you have a very small number of records (< 1000), the SCD wizard will basically compare a data set to your table, insert new records, and update existing records (pretty nifty, but slow on big data sets).

If you can determine new and changed records on the AS400 end, just get those records and either stage the data and compare and update your table with T-SQL, or go get the TableDifference component from http://www.SQLBI.com (it's free) and do the comparison in SSIS (this works pretty well).