Changing Builtin/users to builtin/administrators

• I'm a newbie who has setup SQL server 2008 Express on a Vista machine. I installed the express edition on under my adminstrator account, and set it to use windows authentication. Then, as a test, I created a limited account (aka a standard account on Vista) and tried to connect to the database engine and IT WORKED. I understand that being a limited account it's not supposed to.

I looked under settings for both, to see if I could find why this is happening. What I see is this:

When I login through my windows administrator account, under "Logins" I see BUILTIN/users instead of BUILTIN/Administrators. I do not know why this is. But I am speculating that because of this setting, I am able to login to the database engine even through the limited/standard account. Below BUILTIN/users I see MYPC/ADMINISTRATOR (i.e. mypc's name/my login name for windows).

Another piece of information: I don't think i am able to access everything through my limited account though. When I click on "Logins'' while connected through my limited account, I only see BUILTIN/USERS and sa underneath it. When I click on BUILTIN/USERS and then click on the "connection properties" it shows me "server unavailable" for all fields.

Can someone kindly inform me as to what is going on here? Is a limited/standard account on my PC able to access the SQL server? And from the text that I read (by Robin Dewson) I'm supposed to see BUILTIN/ADMINISTRATOR instead of BUILTIN/USER.

Sorry if my questions are lame, just starting out with sql 2008...this is my second day. If further clarification is needed, please inform.

TIA

• like2innovate (2/3/2010)