Cannot log in to new SQL server

• Hello,

I'm fairly new to installing SQL 2019 standard and am having two issues.

When I first installed SQL server 2019 standard on a server 2019 box, the problem I got was I could not run the SQL Server Agent.

When I go to SQL Server Configuration Manager, the state it is in is "stopped" and when I look at the start mode, it shows Other(Boot, System, Disabled, or Unknown)

When I try starting it, I get the following message:

"The SQL Server Agent (SQL2019STD) service on local computer started and then stopped.  Some Services stop automatically if they are not in use by other services or programs."

I checked the SQL agent out log and this is what I get:

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ? [508] Logging SQL Server Agent messages in file 'C:\Program Files\Microsoft SQL Server\MSSQL15.SQL2019STD\MSSQL\Log\SQLAGENT.OUT'.

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ? [000] Event Global\sqlserverRecComplete$SQL2019STD opened

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ? [100] Microsoft SQLServerAgent version 15.0.2000.5 (X64 unicode retail build) : Process ID 3936

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ? [495] The SQL Server Agent startup service account is QEI\QEIWEB$.

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ? [393] Waiting for SQL Server to recover database 'msdb'...

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ! [298] SQLServer Error: 229, The EXECUTE permission was denied on the object 'sp_sqlagent_update_agent_xps', database 'msdb', schema 'dbo'. [SQLSTATE 42000] (DisableAgentXPs)

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ! [000] The EXECUTE permission was denied on the object 'sp_sqlagent_update_agent_xps', database 'msdb', schema 'dbo'. [SQLSTATE 42000] (Error 229)

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ! [298] SQLServer Error: 229, The EXECUTE permission was denied on the object 'sp_sqlagent_update_agent_xps', database 'msdb', schema 'dbo'. [SQLSTATE 42000] (DisableAgentXPs)

2021-06-24 10:37:45 - ! [000] The EXECUTE permission was denied on the object 'sp_sqlagent_update_agent_xps', database 'msdb', schema 'dbo'. [SQLSTATE 42000] (Error 229)