Bogging Down in the Minutia of Minutes

• Comments posted to this topic are about the item Bogging Down in the Minutia of Minutes

• That sounds like a good presentation to record.

• Robert Sterbal-482516 (1/30/2016)

That sounds like a good presentation to record.

I agree. I don't know why, but I love date math, working with dates and playing with different approaches.

As to the point of the article, it sure is a good one. I'm a rookie presenter, but I suffer from the same problem. I find that I over-prepare to the point of being ridiculous. I feel like there's not going to be enough material when I start, but I never have enough time to present everything there is to say by the time I'm done. There tend to be a lot of rabbit holes to go down and filtering what to cover and what not to cover became a real problem.

Now, I intentionally go through the presentation in sections, getting each section done and somewhat rehearsed in my head, then moving on to the next one. I'll rehearse the whole presentation a maximum of twice and find it helps me feel not quite so robotic when I do the real presentation. The reviews are fine and I've always felt like I've done an adequate job, but never a great job. Maybe it's because I don't think that what I'm presenting is all that special or unique, but the audience seems to disagree with that assessment.

I call it the "analysis paralysis" of presenting, both in creation and critiquing myself afterwards. I figure I'll get better as I do it more. Like I said, I'm still a rookie at it.

• "What is the best time of day?" I asked the audience…"6:30 hands down."

Where / what is the point of this joke? I don't get it...

• samot-dwarf (2/1/2016)

"What is the best time of day?" I asked the audience…"6:30 hands down."

Where / what is the point of this joke? I don't get it...

If it's 6:30 and you look at the clock, where are the hands of the clock located?

• ok, really a bad joke :hehe: