Blob Datatypes and Performance Issues

• I am a relatively new DBA and have a couple of questions about using Blob datatypes and it's effect on other high transaction databases on the server.

1. I remember reading that Blob datatypes can cause corruption problems. What are these problems and do they effect just the database or the entire server?

2. If a word document with a macro virus attached is placed in a blob datatype, will the virus infect the system?

3. When a powerpoint file larger than 65KB is inserted into the database, a size exceeded error occurs. I believe that changing the network packet size property in SQL Server will solve this problem. Is this true and what are the ramifications on the performance of the other databases on the server in changing this setting?

4. Are there any other issues in using blobs in databases besides the slowness of stored procedures using inserts and updates?

Thank you

Rosalind Philips

Office of the Superintendet of Public Instruction, Olympia WA

• My understanding is this:

1) Blobs themselves don't cause corruption problems. Transaction handling and "chunking" need to be handled carefully, though.

2) Macro virus' are only problems when the macro is in an environment to run. Copying files on the disk or putting them into the database does not activate the virus.

3) Seems like SQL said the limit on each "chunk" for text, ntext and image types is 64K. I don't believe that changes with the network packet size. I have found it to fail using 64K and had to back off (I use 62K)

4a) Size is a major issue. Until you truncate the log or back it up, you have twice the disk volume (1 in the data file, 1 in the transaction log).

4b) SQL Backups are affected.

4c) Files under 20K seem to save faster to the database than to disk (on my machine - 100 vs 130) Files at 50K were slower (125 vs 100)