Beta Exams

• We ran an announcement a couple weeks ago that the SQL Server 2005 Beta exams were coming and you could apply to take one. It was in a blog by someone and I was wondering how many people would sign up.

I wrote half of the Sybex book for the Database Design exam (70-229) for SQL Server 2000 and part of the author's responsibility was to take the exam. At least it was mine and I hope it will be for everyone now working on 2005 books. The way it worked back then was that I got an invite to the Beta exam, presumably because I was an author, and took that in May one year, just as the book was about finished. Then made some revisions on the book, took the real exam in like July, and finalized the book for a Sept release. the Beta exams are longer, with a larger pool of questions and from these they choose the final ones based on some complicated, mathematical formula. But if you pass, you get credit. I passed both times 😉

This time I'm not writing a book, at least no one's convinced me to yet :), but I was interested in seeing the new exam technology as well as seeing how things have changed, mostly from a journalistic point of view. So I signed up and got an email late Friday afternoon with registration codes and phone numbers to register with. I was surprised the online registration didn't work, but hey, what can you expect.

I tried calling Saturday, but things were closed, and the Ryli coordination with Ryli's aunt and our bookkeeping staff kept me busy this morning, so I didn't call until a little after lunch. There were invites for 2 exams, 71-431 - Microsoft® SQL Server™ 2005 - Implementation and Maintenance, and 71-441 - Designing Database Solutions by Using Microsoft® SQL Server™ 2005. The invite mentioned that only 500 people would take these exams and that for SQL Server 2000 the slots were filled in 4 days.