All Restores Failing

• I have to create a duplicate of our production server to test a software upgrade. I have never used SQL- don't know scripting etc. But here's the problem:

SQL 7, NT 4 box. Built with same logical drive configuration, etc. Magic Enterprise is the application using SQL.

After the clean install of SQL and Magic all connections to the databases are fine. Full backups of the production DBs are done with EM and I copied them to the local drive of the new machine. I start SQL in single user mode, start the restore of Master from EM. It says it's writing file 1, then fails with SQL state 01000 and my master is destroyed.

As I said - I am a complete beginner here - any help would be greatly appreciated.....

• Try this, I have had some issues getting it to work but, shut down SQL server on the original bo and the new box and copy replacing all files, the databases from the original server to the new server in the place expected. Then restart the new box. When done it should start and act like a server that has been renamed, and should if you copy all the databases over already be up like the other was.

"Don't roll your eyes at me. I will tape them in place." (Teacher on Boston Public)

• I've made some progress. I got the master restored using Query analyzer. I then did a system table update as follows:

USE master

go

UPDATE sysdatabases SET filename='d:\mssqlt\data\tempdb.mdf' WHERE name='tempdb'

go

ALTER DATABASE tempdb MODIFY FILE (name = tempdev, filename = 'd:\mssql7\data\tempdb.mdf')

ALTER DATABASE tempdb MODIFY FILE (name = templog, filename = 'd:\mssql7\data\templog.ldf')

go

I then detached and reattached the model, and MDSB databases.

Now Master,Model,Tempdb, & msdb are fine and SQL is running.