Add only changed or new rows to table

• Hi I am a DBA who does a small bit of SSIS / TSQL development and have been given a project to read in files on a daily basis, and only add changed or new records to a target table. I've come up with an inelegant method to do it but was wondering is there an optimum way to achieve this, at the moment I'm only working with a few thousand records per file but will be scaling to several million pretty imminently. I've searched for best practice docs  but haven't found anything that struck me as being a whole lot better than what I am doing now.
    Basic process
    1. read CSV file into a temporary staging table
    2. identify records which aren't identical to records already in the target table
    3. add the new changed records to the target table (not updating old records with new values).
    If someone has a good blog post on this I'd be happy to check it out, not looking for the solution at a TSQL level, just guidance on the optimum way to get there.

thanks folks

• DonkeyKing - Thursday, November 16, 2017 10:02 AM

Hi I am a DBA who does a small bit of SSIS / TSQL development and have been given a project to read in files on a daily basis, and only add changed or new records to a target table. I've come up with an inelegant method to do it but was wondering is there an optimum way to achieve this, at the moment I'm only working with a few thousand records per file but will be scaling to several million pretty imminently. I've searched for best practice docs  but haven't found anything that struck me as being a whole lot better than what I am doing now.
    Basic process
    2. identify records which aren't identical to records already in the target table
    3. add the new changed records to the target table (not updating old records with new values).
    If someone has a good blog post on this I'd be happy to check it out, not looking for the solution at a TSQL level, just guidance on the optimum way to get there.