Home Forums SQL Server 7,2000 General best way to copy database from one server to another? RE: best way to copy database from one server to another?

• I am fairly new to SQL and have a great automatic way to do this:

I have 2 Servers, Windows 2003 Standard, both with SQL Server 2000 and sp3a.

I have a folder on the main server d:\mssql\data\backup\ - I made a folder here called "disasterbackupcopy".

I have a folder on the backup server d:\mssql\data\backup\ - I made a folder here called "disasterrecoverycopy".

Now setup job to run in SQL Agent, Jobs, here is  what my job does:

--start of the script--

USE master

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'DEL D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\VHCS_HIPAA.BAK', no_output

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'DEL D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\VHCS.BAK',       no_output

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'DEL D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\CMS.BAK',        no_output

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'DEL \\ufcw655hw2\DisasterRecoveryCopy\VHCS_HIPAA.BAK', no_output

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'DEL \\ufcw655hw2\DisasterRecoveryCopy\VHCS.BAK',       no_output

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'DEL \\UFCW655HW2\DisasterRecoveryCopy\CMS.BAK',        no_output

BACKUP DATABASE VHCS_HIPAA TO DISK='D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\VHCS_HIPAA.BAK'

BACKUP DATABASE VHCS       TO DISK='D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\VHCS.BAK'

BACKUP DATABASE CMS        TO DISK='D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\CMS.BAK'

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'COPY D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\VHCS_HIPAA.BAK \\UFCW655HW2\DisasterRecoveryCopy\*.*', no_output

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'COPY D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\VHCS.BAK       \\UFCW655HW2\DisasterRecoveryCopy\*.*', no_output

EXEC xp_cmdshell 'COPY D:\MSSQL\BACKUP\DisasterBackupCopy\CMS.BAK        \\UFCW655HW2\DisasterRecoveryCopy\*.*', no_output

-- End of the Script --

Set your shares for all administrator rights.