SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Write blob field to Windows File system

Write blob field to Windows File system

Author
billyusa
SSC Rookie
SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
I am new to SQL Server. I have a jpeg stored in varchar(max) field in SServer Table. I need to use TSQL to write the jpeg to windows file system.

Please help.
Oliiii
Oliiii
SSC Eights!
SSC Eights! (958 reputation)SSC Eights! (958 reputation)SSC Eights! (958 reputation)SSC Eights! (958 reputation)SSC Eights! (958 reputation)SSC Eights! (958 reputation)SSC Eights! (958 reputation)SSC Eights! (958 reputation)

I guess you meant a varbinary(max) column?

As far as i know you can't do it in TSQL only, you would need to use a tool or an application to read it from the table and write it to disk, or you could write a CLR that does just that.

You can give it a shot with bcp.exe, but it might write extra stuffs (like header info, length, etc...) and you might not end up with just the JPG.
billyusa
billyusa
SSC Rookie
SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)SSC Rookie (33 reputation)

Is there no built-in procedure/function in Sserver 2005 that I can call from TSQL that can take a jpeg stored in a table and write to Windows File system?

Please help,....... anyone
Brandie Tarvin
Brandie Tarvin
SSC-Dedicated
SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)SSC-Dedicated (37K reputation)