SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

ABCD... of Oracle

ABCD... of Oracle

Author
vijay1327-891581
Valued Member
Valued Member (67 reputation)Valued Member (67 reputation)Valued Member (67 reputation)Valued Member (67 reputation)Valued Member (67 reputation)Valued Member (67 reputation)Valued Member (67 reputation)Valued Member (67 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi,

I am a sql server developer/DBA. I am interested to learn Oracle from begining. Can anybody pls guide on this path.

Thanks,
Vj
PaulB-TheOneAndOnly
PaulB-TheOneAndOnly
SSCertifiable
SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)SSCertifiable (5.4K reputation)

There are three ways to get started, they are: formal training, self training and on-the-job training.

1) Formal training, you know what I mean.

2) Go to www.oracle.com, download Oracle sofware, install it and start practicing e.g. build your own lab. Oracle documentation is pretty clear and, it's for free!

3) Find a job in a SQL Server / Oracle shop and ask your new boss to involve you in Oracle.

Godspeed!

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.

Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.
vijay1327
vijay1327
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie (3 reputation)Forum Newbie (3 reputation)Forum Newbie (3 reputation)Forum Newbie (3 reputation)Forum Newbie (3 reputation)Forum Newbie (3 reputation)Forum Newbie (3 reputation)Forum Newbie (3 reputation)

thanks for the suggestion. Will start with [2] and see how far I can go.
PaulB-TheOneAndOnly