Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

How To Clear the SQL Server Activity Log

How To Clear the SQL Server Activity Log

Author
Ronald San Juan
SSC-Enthusiastic
SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members

Hi, I'm a DBA in our company and we're using SQL Server 2000.

Is there a way to clear the SQL Server Log without shutting the server down? I need to know if this is possible as I am not the only Database Administrator in our company. I need to find out how to clear the Activity Log or alter the log messages without deleting the files thru the windows file system. Also, can I create an audit trail or trigger to see if somebody did clear the activity log?

Ronald San Juan | SQL DBA
ID 710124 ~ Code "Northwind"
SQLBill
SQLBill
Hall of Fame
Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)Hall of Fame (3.5K reputation)

If you are talking about the SQL Server Error logs...

sp_cycle_errorlog

will do the job. That closes out the current one and opens a new one. The closed out one is archived. Depending on your settings you can have several archived logs. I think the default is six. There's no auditing to tell if someone 'cleared' them or deleted old ones.

-SQLBill

Ronald San Juan
Ronald San Juan
SSC-Enthusiastic
SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (149 reputation)

Thanks SQLBill!