SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

SQL server media not supported on a X86 system error soon as setup is launch

SQL server media not supported on a X86 system error soon as setup is launch

Author
RGT
Valued Member
Valued Member (56 reputation)Valued Member (56 reputation)Valued Member (56 reputation)Valued Member (56 reputation)Valued Member (56 reputation)Valued Member (56 reputation)Valued Member (56 reputation)Valued Member (56 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi! I am new in this forum and so excited to meet people who live and breath SQL!

Besides being new in this forum, I am new to SQL as well so forgive me if I will ask newbie and "stupid" questions :-)

Now on to my problem.

I am trying to install an SQL server 2012 developer edition with SP1 X64 to my local machine and received this error

"SQL server media not supported on a X86 system. To continue, run the SQL server setup media that matches your system"

What have I done wrong?

A few more information prior to the installation :
- Operating System is Windows 8 on a dual boot MacBook pro
- I allocated 81GB space for Windows system. No application installed yet. SQL would be the first
- I uncompressed the .iso file to a USB drive and to my hard drive then run setup.exe from both but still had the same problem

I suspect that it is because I am trying to install through a different media other than a DVD disc but I do not have available disc right now so I took my chance. I wasn't successful. What is the work around with this problem?

Has anyone encountered this problem before? I need all the help please because I am aiming to take certification exams and this is my initial step so I can practice and review on my spare time.

All help will be appreciated.

thanks!
RGT
RGT
Valued Member