Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

how to create a flat file from SQL tables

how to create a flat file from SQL tables

Author
ssarria
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
Hi,
I am trying to create a flat file from a database. I am just learning how to work on sql so any help would be greatly appreciated!
Saul
dba_pkashyap
dba_pkashyap
SSC-Enthusiastic
SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)

Is it a database or a table?

If table, you can use export / bcp to copy the contents of the table to a flat file.

Pavan
ssarria
ssarria
Forum Newbie
Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)Forum Newbie (6 reputation)

Hi Pavan,
The idea is to create a back up of the database on a flat file. It could be by tables.though
I did use mysql workbench to update an existing DB but now I was asked to create a back up on a flat file.
Thanks,
dba_pkashyap
dba_pkashyap
SSC-Enthusiastic
SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)SSC-Enthusiastic (144 reputation)

Why do you want to create the backup on a flat file, use SQL native backup tool and take the backup.

If you have to backup all tables on flat files, then you might have to do it for every table seperately.