Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Parameters

Parameters

Author
SQLRNNR
SSC-Insane
SSC-Insane (21K reputation)SSC-Insane (21K reputation)SSC-Insane (21K reputation)SSC-Insane (21K reputation)SSC-Insane (21K reputation)SSC-Insane (21K reputation)SSC-Insane (21K reputation)SSC-Insane (21K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
I skipped right over that Declare + Set and the fact that it was for 2005 and up since I had been doing that kind of set for some time in 2008. I guess that is lucky??

Nice question idea.

Jason AKA CirqueDeSQLeil
I have given a name to my pain...
MCM SQL Server, MVP

SQL RNNR

Posting Performance Based Questions - Gail Shaw

Robert.Hoffmann
Robert.Hoffmann
SSC Veteran
SSC Veteran (238 reputation)SSC Veteran (238 reputation)SSC Veteran (238 reputation)SSC Veteran (238 reputation)SSC Veteran (238 reputation)SSC Veteran (238 reputation)SSC Veteran (238 reputation)SSC Veteran (238 reputation)

Wouldn't the example given also error out if for some reason a Customer had more than one CustomerRefNo returned?
Hugo Kornelis
Hugo Kornelis
SSCrazy Eights
SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)SSCrazy Eights (8.3K reputation)

Robert.Hoffman (11/3/2011)
Wouldn't the example given also error out if for some reason a Customer had more than one CustomerRefNo returned?

No. In that case, it would (more or less random (*)) select one of the RefNo values and return that one.

(*) To be precies, it would process them all, assigning them to the variable in turn, each time overwriting the previous assignment. Only the last assignment would stick, so the value returned would be from the row that happens to be processed last - which, in the absence of an ORDER BY, can be any row.

Hugo Kornelis, SQL Server MVP