Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

reset sa password

reset sa password

Author
Brandie Tarvin
SSCertifiable
SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)SSCertifiable (7.7K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
sql2k8 (1/30/2011)
I don't have any other sysadmin account, i am an administrator on the machine . i am not sysadmin. I don't have any other accounts with sysadmin priviliges.I am trying to do this on sql server 2008 server

You are administrator on the box, but you have no administrator account to get into SQL Server, do I understand this correctly?

Do you have any account to be able to login into SQL Server? What permissions in SQL Server do you have?

If you are not a SQL Server Security Admin or SysAdmin, you may not be able to reset the SA password. Box Admin and SQL Server admin are not the same thing.

Brandie Tarvin, MCITP Database AdministratorLiveJournal Blog: http://brandietarvin.livejournal.com/On LinkedIn!, Google+, and Twitter.Freelance Writer: ShadowrunLatchkeys: Nevermore, Latchkeys: The Bootleg War, and Latchkeys: Roscoes in the Night are now available on Nook and Kindle.
GilaMonster
GilaMonster
SSC-Forever
SSC-Forever (47K reputation)SSC-Forever (47K reputation)SSC-Forever (47K reputation)SSC-Forever (47K reputation)SSC-Forever (47K reputation)SSC-Forever (47K reputation)SSC-Forever (47K reputation)SSC-Forever (47K reputation)

Brandie Tarvin (1/31/2011)
Box Admin and SQL Server admin are not the same thing.

They are if SQL is running in single user mode. Challenge appears to be to find what app is stealing the single connection.

Gail Shaw
Microsoft Certified Master: SQL Server, MVP, M.Sc (Comp Sci)
SQL In The Wild: Discussions on DB performance with occasional diversions into recoverability