SQLServerCentral

Basics of Statistics (data distribution)


https://www.sqlservercentral.com/Forums/Topic1793581.aspx

By Steve Jones - SSC Editor - Thursday, June 9, 2016 10:47 AM

I would like a basic article to explain how statistics are captured for SQL Server tables and updated (auto/manual). A short explanation on what statistics mean with regards to table.

Maybe decode dbcc show_Statistics with some sample data so the reader understands the buckets.
By David Fundakowski - Tuesday, July 5, 2016 1:15 AM

I would like to write this up.
By Steve Jones - SSC Editor - Friday, August 5, 2016 3:31 AM

Take it
By Devendra Thakur - Tuesday, September 6, 2016 5:12 PM

Hi,
I have created the article and would like to submit. Could you help me to do that.
Thanks
By BLOB EATER - Thursday, September 8, 2016 12:32 AM

Go to " write for us" on the left sided menu bar then click contribute - here you will need to paste your article and format it.
By Steve Jones - SSC Editor - Wednesday, September 14, 2016 9:48 AM

As noted, you can submit online.

Or email it to articles@ with this domain.
By amarreddy23 - Monday, May 8, 2017 4:42 PM

Is this still open ? can i work on this?
By Steve Jones - SSC Editor - Friday, May 26, 2017 1:19 AM

You can. I think i'd like to see this broken into a couple of articles that start slow and explain with examples how statistics work WRT distribution. Please let me know what you'd like to write on .
By jbieber - Wednesday, September 6, 2017 5:55 AM

Do you still want articles on this?
By Steve Jones - SSC Editor - Wednesday, September 6, 2017 6:59 AM

Yes, lots of articles on different parts of basics stats.
By Arsh - Wednesday, September 13, 2017 11:58 PM

I started with this sometime back with a slow build up with examples. Just completed the first post starting with the definition... Can visit @

sqlempire.wordpress.com
By xsevensinzx - Saturday, September 16, 2017 12:57 AM

Azure Data Warehouse one would be good too if not one already.
By judithwrites1 - Tuesday, November 14, 2017 8:55 PM

Can I write an article on this topic?
By Steve Jones - SSC Editor - Thursday, November 30, 2017 4:17 AM

Please do