migrating of data from 2008r2 to 2012

  • hi all,

    we are using sql server2008r2 for our application..we want to integrate with another application which is using sql server 2012...so we need to send few tables...can i send data between the application? does it possible...?

  • i want to push few tables or data to anther application...do we need to use linked servers?

  • - do you need to just copy the data once ?

    you could use bcp.exe to do that.

    - are you sure you really want to make both sqlserver instances dependent by using linked servers ??:sick:

    Are these just a couple of (little) tables you need to keep in sync for both instances ?

    Does that need to be real time synchronized ?

    Johan

    Learn to play, play to learn !

    Dont drive faster than your guardian angel can fly ...
    but keeping both feet on the ground wont get you anywhere :w00t:

    - How to post Performance Problems
    - How to post data/code to get the best help[/url]

    - How to prevent a sore throat after hours of presenting ppt

    press F1 for solution, press shift+F1 for urgent solution 😀

    Need a bit of Powershell? How about this

    Who am I ? Sometimes this is me but most of the time this is me

  • its not one time process..it has to push data for every minute or 5 minute..so i need to connect through liked server...another server is on public IP

  • I would suggest to setup a bcp batch job using SQLAgent, providing the jobstep proxy account only with the needed authorisation to read the source data and write to the destination instance.

    I would not use a linked server to implement that, because of the risk of abuse.

    Intentions now are good and can be implemented using a linked server, but once a linked server definition is in place, everyone can use it and then the impact may overgrow the intended one and servers will actually become depentent. That would mean apps using the target server may not work if you take the source server down for e.g. maintenance, ...

    example bcp sequence:

    rem Create format files

    bcp yourdb.yourschema.yourtable format NUL -fc:\ImportExport\SourceInstance_yourschema.yourtable.fmt -S SourceInstance\SourceInstance -T -n -o c:\ImportExport\SourceInstance_yourschema.yourtable_fmt.log

    rem delete data via SQLCMD only if needed / consider Truncate table

    rem sqlcmd -S TargetInstance -d yourDB -E -Q "delete from yourschema.yourtable;" -o "c:\ImportExport\TargetInstance_yourDB_delete_yourschema.yourtable.Log"

    rem Import dataIN HIARARCHICAL ORDER !!!

    bcp yourDB.yourschema.yourtable in c:\ImportExport\SourceInstance_yourschema.yourtable.bcp -fc:\ImportExport\SourceInstance_yourschema.yourtable.fmt -S TargetInstance -T -CRAW -k -E -h"TABLOCK,CHECK_CONSTRAINTS" -o c:\ImportExport\DEV01_LOAD_yourDB_yourschema.yourtable.log

    Johan

    Learn to play, play to learn !

    Dont drive faster than your guardian angel can fly ...
    but keeping both feet on the ground wont get you anywhere :w00t:

    - How to post Performance Problems
    - How to post data/code to get the best help[/url]

    - How to prevent a sore throat after hours of presenting ppt

    press F1 for solution, press shift+F1 for urgent solution 😀

    Need a bit of Powershell? How about this

    Who am I ? Sometimes this is me but most of the time this is me

  • Why not use SSIS to send the data across?

  • What about replication?

    Need an answer? No, you need a question
    My blog at https://sqlkover.com.
    MCSE Business Intelligence - Microsoft Data Platform MVP

  • Koen Verbeeck (10/17/2013)


    What about replication?

    Will that work between 2 different versions of SQL?

  • bugg (10/17/2013)


    Koen Verbeeck (10/17/2013)


    What about replication?

    Will that work between 2 different versions of SQL?

    Sure.

    Using Multiple Versions of SQL Server in a Replication Topology

    Need an answer? No, you need a question
    My blog at https://sqlkover.com.
    MCSE Business Intelligence - Microsoft Data Platform MVP

  • Koen Verbeeck (10/17/2013)


    bugg (10/17/2013)


    Koen Verbeeck (10/17/2013)


    What about replication?

    Will that work between 2 different versions of SQL?

    Sure.

    Using Multiple Versions of SQL Server in a Replication Topology

    Cool 🙂

Viewing 10 posts - 1 through 9 (of 9 total)

You must be logged in to reply to this topic. Login to reply