Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Sql server agent jobs

Sql server agent jobs

Author
sree-226516
Right there with Babe
Right there with Babe (773 reputation)Right there with Babe (773 reputation)Right there with Babe (773 reputation)Right there with Babe (773 reputation)Right there with Babe (773 reputation)Right there with Babe (773 reputation)Right there with Babe (773 reputation)Right there with Babe (773 reputation)

Group: General Forum Members

Hi,

Could anybody please tell me how to run sql server agent jobs using control-M?

I am new to Control-M so I will appreciate if somebody throw some loght on Control-M.

Thanks,

sree

Thanks,
SR
gcp777
gcp777
SSC Veteran
SSC Veteran (229 reputation)SSC Veteran (229 reputation)SSC Veteran (229 reputation)SSC Veteran (229 reputation)SSC Veteran (229 reputation)SSC Veteran (229 reputation)SSC Veteran (229 reputation)SSC Veteran (229 reputation)

Sree,

It's actually quite easy, but you won't run the agent jobs as such.

Set up a CMD file to run under controlM. Within that batch file, you can use osql to run BACKUP commands, or if you set up a maintenance plan you can run the SQLMAINT.EXE utility and reference the maint plan to pull out the DBs to backup etc.

e.g SQLMAINT.EXE -S yourservernamehere -PlanName yourmaintplannamehere -BkUpDB C:\BACKUP -BkUpMedia DISK

See the BOL for details on the parms, and ways to use SQLMAINT and osql.

You can also parameterise your jobs and pass the parameters via ControlM - makes the jobs more flexible.

I'd suggest start with a basic script and then build up to the fancy stuff - parameters, error messages etc - once you have the basics sorted out.

Don't forget to call the appropriate ControlM exit code (success or failure) at the end of your job.

EdVassie
EdVassie
Hall of Fame