SQL Clone
SQLServerCentral is supported by Redgate

Data-driven subscriptions - sequential or parallel.

Data-driven subscriptions - sequential or parallel.

Author
Marcia J
SSCarpal Tunnel
SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.8K reputation)

Group: General Forum Members
If I have a data-driven subscription that will produce 12 reports, will SSRS try to run those 12 reports at the same time or will it run one report at a time until it's produced all 12.

I'm asking this because I want to use this for a case where we currently have 12 subscriptions. The subscriptions are currently spread out so that the report doesn't drag everything else down. This particular report is resource-heavy, so I don't want to end up having it drag down the system by running multiple copies at the same time.

While it's running those reports (whether parallel or sequentially), will it block other subscriptions from being processed (other than any normal blocking that would come about from trying to access the same data)?

I've been trying to find this on-line, but I'm mostly finding articles on how to create a data-driven subscription. If there is something out there, I'm probably using the wrong search terms.

I'm mostly trying to make sure that in trying to switch to what seems like a really good idea, I don't end up causing unexpected problems.
doug.brown
doug.brown
SSCarpal Tunnel
SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)SSCarpal Tunnel (4.9K reputation)