Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.
Log in  ::  Register  ::  Not logged in

The Smiling DBA

Thomas LeBlanc is a Business Intelligence Consultant/Data Warehouse Architect in Baton Rouge, Louisiana. He uses his 25+ years in IT to help develop OLTP systems with normalized databases for high-performing T-SQL and end-to-end dimensional data marts using SSIS, SSAS, PPS, and Excel. His SQL Server certifications include MCSA 12, MCITP 08 BI and DBA, MCITP 2005 DBA, and MCDBA 2000. As a PASS volunteer, he is current chair of the Excel BI virtual chapter, past chair of the Data Architecture virtual chapter, and past virtual chapter mentor. He has helped the Baton Rouge SQL Server User Group with SQLSaturdays and speaks at local IT meetings.

PASS Data Arch VC presents Mike Fal: Eating the Elephant: SQL Server Table Partitioning

Thursday’s (May 17th, 2012) PASS Data Architecture Virtual Chapter has Mike demonstrating some cool Table Partitioning scripts which I was able to attend at SQL Saturday in Colorado Springs in January of this year.

We will also be giving away an Amazon gift card plus someone gets to choose between Itzik’s T-SQL book or Kalen Delaney’s 2008 Internals.

If you would like to volunteer for this VC, please email


Subject:  Eating the Elephant: SQL Server Table Partitioning

Start Time:  Thursday, May 17th, 2012 12:00 PM US Central Time (6:00 PM GMT)

End Time:  Thursday, May 17th, 2012 1:00 PM US Central Time (7:00 PM GMT)

Presenter:  Mike Fal

Live Meeting Link:

Eating The Elephant: SQL Server Table Partitioning

Is your table fat? Do you need to manage a table that has billions of rows within it and are overwhelmed by index rebuilds that take more than 12 hours? SQL Server's table partitioning gives the DBA the tools to manage this beast and support very large tables in a way where index management and data retrieval does not become unwieldy. This presentation will take you step by step through choosing an appropriate partitioning key, setting up the partitioning on the table, and finally maintaining the partitions.

Mike Fal

Mike Fal is a musician turned SQL Server DBA, with 10+ years of experience along with some brief excursions into Oracle and Netezza. He has worked in several different industries, including healthcare, software development, marketing, and manufacturing and has experience supporting databases from 1 GB to 4 TB in size. Mike received his Bachelor's Degree from the University of Colorado at Boulder in 1996 and has been caught playing trombone in public on more than one occasion.

Contact URL:

Add to calendarAdd to calendar


Leave a comment on the original post [, opens in a new window]

Loading comments...