Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 12»»

Career Advice - SQL Server Development ---Please Help! Expand / Collapse
Author
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Monday, July 25, 2011 4:37 PM
I graduated in 2001 from a major university with a BSBA in Computer Information Systems. I didn't go into the computer field when I graduated. However, I have now found a new desire to get into the computer field. I want to get into SQL Server development. What would the most cost effective/quickest way to get into the field. Will my information systems degree help? What classes should I take? What are employers looking for in entry level SQL Server Developer candidates?

Please advise!

Thanks!
Post #1147261
Posted Sunday, July 24, 2011 8:10 PM

SSC-Dedicated

SSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-DedicatedSSC-Dedicated

Last Login: Today @ 11:10 AM
Do you have any experience with databases at all? Also, what is it that you've been doing for the last 10 years?

--Jeff Moden
"RBAR is pronounced "ree-bar" and is a "Modenism" for "Row-By-Agonizing-Row".

First step towards the paradigm shift of writing Set Based code:
Stop thinking about what you want to do to a row... think, instead, of what you want to do to a column."

(play on words) "Just because you CAN do something in T-SQL, doesn't mean you SHOULDN'T." --22 Aug 2013

Helpful Links:
How to post code problems
How to post performance problems
Post #1147275
Posted Monday, July 25, 2011 5:25 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Last Login: Monday, July 25, 2011 4:37 PM