Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««12

User-defined Data Type Basics Expand / Collapse
Author

Mr or Mrs. 500

Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Sunday, April 13, 2014 11:06 AM
When you say you script them, have you applied the script to a different server? One without UDT's defined on it already? And it worked?

And when you say,

"Frankly if your schema is in a regular state of flux and you are not in a development environment then there is something seriously wrong with the design or analysis behind the database."

I totally agree. However, as a contractor, I'm the guy who walks in to clean up this very situation once they decide the network admin wasn't the guy to do the database design after all. In almost all cases, there is no documentation, the database is in a state of failure in some way, it's a production system and mission critical to the business using it, and there are no standards of any kind established, and when you say "Structured Design Methodology" to the IT manager, he says "Method what?" The last thing I want to have to deal with is figuring out what the heck the dude was doing with UDT's. The first thing I want to do is set up a test enviroment, by scripting the database structure and re-building the database on a different server, generally, a Desktop Engine. Why not just restore a backup, you ask? Generally, disk space. Sql Server is great about optimizing its queries and such and using statistics, so the database has to be quite large to overcome this to the point of pain that causes the company to call me. And generally, companies supply the machine they have, and have never even thought about a standby server, development enviroment, Qa Enviroment, etc. Even in the ones who have, budget issues are universal, an