Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 12»»

SQL Best practices, policies and code-smells. Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Saturday, January 25, 2014 11:45 AM

Mr or Mrs. 500

Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500Mr or Mrs. 500

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Yesterday @ 2:05 AM
Comments posted to this topic are about the item SQL Best practices, policies and code-smells.

Best wishes,

Phil Factor
Simple Talk
Post #1534734
Posted Saturday, January 25, 2014 12:59 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Last Login: Monday, July 28, 2014 11:06 AM
I do agree with what you say about 'best practices' and hard-and-fast rules...

I am no SQL expert by any means---but, I will say that after so many years of doing procedural programming that when I had to face SQL (small / large queries) to convert reports, I can see that trying to put an envelop around SQL and say that 'this' or 'these' are the 'correct' ways in all cases is something that seems not possible....

Post #1534739
Posted Saturday, January 25, 2014 4:04 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Last Login: Monday, September 8, 2014 9:45 AM
Good day,

I disagree with the notion of what is being presented as "best practices" and I strongly disagree with the presumption that "we are different" is an argument for not adopting best practices. We are all different, our solutions are all different, factor out what is common and you will be well informed by best practices for that discipline.