Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 12»»

Regular Expressions Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC Rookie

SSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC Rookie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: 2 days ago @ 8:36 AM
I am looking into writing a regular expression for validating emails. I am an absolute novice at this, could some explain what are regular expressions, with an example of how to implement it when validating emails using a CLR function.

links to clear good exmples and explanations would be very much appreciated

Post #1406771
Posted Monday, January 14, 2013 9:17 AM

SSChampion

SSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampion

Last Login: Yesterday @ 11:50 AM
this is the code for the CLR i use; It leverages the the .Net Mail object, which has some pretty expansive, built in rules for handling email addresses.

If you are just starting out, I could slap this into an example project with that code in it already if you think you need a bit more help.
'--requires Imports System.Net
<Microsoft.SqlServer.Server.SqlProcedure()> _
Public Shared Function IsValidEmail(ByVal email As SqlString) As SqlInt32
Try
Dim ma As New System.Net.Mail.MailAddress(email)
Return New SqlInt32(1)
Catch
Return New SqlInt32(0)
End Try
End Function

Lowell

--There is no spoon, and there's no default ORDER BY in sql server either.
Actually, Common Sense is so rare, it should be considered a Superpower. --my son
Post #1406799
Posted Monday, January 14, 2013 9:27 AM

SSChampion

SSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampion

Last Login: Yesterday @ 2:32 PM