Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 12»»

Automating .sql Scripts Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Wednesday, September 29, 2010 1:02 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Thursday, January 6, 2011 6:47 AM
I am in a bit of a jam. I am using SQL Express 2008 on my PC. I am new to this but I am creating a new database off of several processes within Server 08. I have everything running through Stored Procedures and I created a .sql script that Executes each of the stored procedures in order. I know if I had SSIS I could have the package run overnight, but my company does not support SSIS on SQL Express machines. Is there any other way to have SQL Server automatically execute my .sql file overnight, while I am away and my computer is locked? I am a novice SQL Server user.
Post #995534
Posted Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:17 PM
SSC Rookie

SSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC Rookie

Last Login: Wednesday, December 15, 2010 9:51 AM
It semes SQL Express installs a disabled SQL Server Agent, so my initial suggestion of putting your T-SQL script into an agent job T-SQL step won't work (homework assignment: search more exhaustively than I am able to if there is a way to start the Agent for Express edition)

However, you could write an application as simple as a form with a button, that opens an ODBC connection to your database, and runs your stored procedures.

Post #995627
Posted Wednesday, September 29, 2010 3:32 PM

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Last Login: 2 days ago @ 9:18 AM
I would use a Windows scheduled task with the related sqlcmd.

Lutz
A pessimist is an optimist with experience.