Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

ABCD... of Oracle Expand / Collapse
Author
Valued Member

Valued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued MemberValued Member

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, September 11, 2012 3:29 AM
Hi,

I am a sql server developer/DBA. I am interested to learn Oracle from begining. Can anybody pls guide on this path.

Thanks,
Vj
Post #741714
Posted Thursday, June 25, 2009 10:59 AM

Hall of Fame

Hall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of Fame

Last Login: Tuesday, January 28, 2014 8:15 AM
There are three ways to get started, they are: formal training, self training and on-the-job training.

1) Formal training, you know what I mean.

2) Go to www.oracle.com, download Oracle sofware, install it and start practicing e.g. build your own lab. Oracle documentation is pretty clear and, it's for free!

3) Find a job in a SQL Server / Oracle shop and ask your new boss to involve you in Oracle.

Godspeed!

Author of Understanding Database Administration available at Amazon and other bookstores.

Disclaimer: Advice is provided to the best of my knowledge but no implicit or explicit warranties are provided. Since the advisor explicitly encourages testing any and all suggestions on a test non-production environment advisor should not held liable or responsible for any actions taken based on the given advice.
Post #742015
Posted Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:15 AM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Last Login: Wednesday, July 15, 2009 4:08 AM
thanks for the suggestion. Will start with [2] and see how far I can go.
Post #753297
Posted Wednesday, July 15, 2009 8:16 AM

Hall of Fame