Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase «««23456»»»

Who wants to be a SQL Server DBA? Expand / Collapse
Author
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Monday, October 22, 2007 9:18 AM
wow. I have been an informal dba (i.e. the only person willing to look into it) since SQL 6.5 but I cannot answer any of those questions. I am sure I have used (or made a conscious informed decision not to use) all of those, but I forgot the details as soon as I didn't need them anymore.

So, what does someone like me, with a terrible memory but good problem solving skills do in an interview?
Post #411017
Posted Monday, October 15, 2007 2:35 PM

SSChampion

SSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampionSSChampion

Last Login: Yesterday @ 10:01 AM
Yes. But it actually brings us to a different point - that we can't have one set of ideals for the DBA candidate. No doubt each of us needs something different from such a position. You may need someone who can do a textbook job of admining one platform for the next 4 years. Or you may need someone who can take full charge of Database Services for your firm or department - who may from time to time not offhand know this or that implementation detail, but is a "professional learner" who can keep up as the changes happen, as hardware and software and IO changes tilt practice in one direction or another?

For example - not just know the answer to "can you" on your question, but recognizes when to change the indices to do so - and then when to change them back.