Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

How To Clear the SQL Server Activity Log Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Wednesday, November 8, 2006 6:28 PM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Monday, June 23, 2008 2:57 PM

Hi, I'm a DBA in our company and we're using SQL Server 2000.

Is there a way to clear the SQL Server Log without shutting the server down? I need to know if this is possible as I am not the only Database Administrator in our company. I need to find out how to clear the Activity Log or alter the log messages without deleting the files thru the windows file system. Also, can I create an audit trail or trigger to see if somebody did clear the activity log?

Ronald San Juan | SQL DBA
ID 710124 ~ Code "Northwind"
Post #321518
Posted Wednesday, November 8, 2006 7:55 PM
Hall of Fame

Hall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of FameHall of Fame

Last Login: Tuesday, July 8, 2014 8:11 AM
If you are talking about the SQL Server Error logs...

sp_cycle_errorlog

will do the job. That closes out the current one and opens a new one. The closed out one is archived. Depending on your settings you can have several archived logs. I think the default is six. There's no auditing to tell if someone 'cleared' them or deleted old ones.

-SQLBill

Post #321528
Posted Wednesday, November 8, 2006 9:13 PM
SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Last Login: Monday, June 23, 2008 2:57 PM

Thanks SQLBill!

I actually saw this one also thru SQL Books Online. This is a problem for me where our SQL environment is governed by a lot of DBAs.