Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

SQL Beginner Expand / Collapse
Author
Posted Wednesday, August 9, 2006 10:05 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, August 11, 2006 11:17 AM

Hi everyone,

I'm a beginner with SQL Server 2005 and trying to complete a project with the following question, can someone please help?

Use AdventureWorks database and HumanResources.Department table.

Create a stored procedure called spDepartmentAddUpdate.  This procedure accepts two parameters: Name, and GroupName.  The data types are VarChar(50), and VarChar(50) respectively.  Define logic in this procedure to check for an existing Department record with the same Name.  If the department record exists, update the GroupName and ModifiedDate. Otherwise, insert a new department record.

1. Execute your stored procedure to show that the insert logic works.
  2. Execute your stored procedure to show that the update logic works.

Note:

1.        DepartmentID is an identity column.

2.        You may use GETDATE() to insert or update the modified date.

Thanks in advance!

Post #300762
Posted Thursday, August 10, 2006 10:09 AM

SSC Veteran

SSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC VeteranSSC Veteran

Last Login: Thursday, December 5, 2013 12:21 PM
Are you making us do your homework for you?

Why dont you make an attempt and we can guide you through?

Dinakar Nethi
Life is short. Enjoy it.
Post #300959
Posted Thursday, August 10, 2006 9:15 PM
Forum Newbie

Forum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum NewbieForum Newbie

Sorry Dinakar, I was only trying to get some help not a complete solution.  Thanks anyways...
Post #301094
Posted Friday, August 11, 2006 5:35 AM

SSC-Forever