Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase

Converting Integer Values to Datetime Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC-Addicted

SSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-AddictedSSC-Addicted

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 4:36 AM
Hi,

As a DBA, I am working on a project where an ETL process(SSIS) takes a long time to aggregate and process the raw data.
I figured out few things where the package selects the data from my biggest 200 GB unpartitioned table which has a datekey column but the package converts its each row to an integer value leading to massive scans and high CPU.

Example: the package passed two values 20140714 and 4 which means it wants to grab data from my biggest table which belongs between 20140714 04:00:00 and 20140714 05:00:00.
It leads to massive implicit conversions and I am trying to change this.

To minimize the number of changes, what I am trying to do is to convert 20140714 and 4 to a datetime format variable.

Select Convert(DATETIME, LEFT(20170714, 8)) which gives me a date value but I am stuck at appending time(HH:00:00) to it.

Kindly suggest and give your inputs.

Thanks
Chandan Jha
Post #1592436
Posted Tuesday, July 15, 2014 1:56 AM This worked for the OP Answer marked as solution

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Last Login: Friday, May 8, 2015 1:48 AM
Something like this?

declare @date int = 20140714, @hour int = 4

SELECT DATEADD(HOUR,@hour,CONVERT(DATETIME,LEFT(@date,8)))

Want an answer fast? Try here
How to post data/code for the best help - Jeff Moden
Need a string splitter, try this - Jeff Moden
How to post performance problems - Gail Shaw
CrossTabs-Part1 & Part2 - Jeff Moden
SQL Server Backup, Integrity Check, and Index and Statistics Maintenance - Ola Hallengren