Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase ««12345»»»

The Subtle Push to the Cloud Expand / Collapse
Author

SSC-Enthusiastic

SSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-EnthusiasticSSC-Enthusiastic

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Friday, September 19, 2014 7:13 AM
Yes there is change and I can see that continuing for hardware.

I still believe long term though software development may be far less prone to constant development with consolidation around standards - languages and platforms.
Post #1565894
Posted Tuesday, April 29, 2014 7:01 AM

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Last Login: Today @ 3:30 PM
I see your point of view. I even held a similar one back when I was a C++ developer. I knew the standard inside out. I knew where MS had deviated from and where it had yet to implement the standard. I knew about the slow coming changes to the standard...

...then came .NET and there have been plenty of other new things since too.

Gaz

-- Stop your grinnin' and drop your linen...they're everywhere!!!
Post #1565896
Posted Tuesday, April 29, 2014 8:04 AM

SSCommitted

SSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommitted

Last Login: Today @ 10:28 AM
Dalkeith (4/29/2014)
There are two aspects of software which make it unique in the world of Economics.

Immortality and essentially Free Duplication.

Immortality usually leads to higher prices - eg gold diamonds etc
100% Accurate free reproduction means no supply limits and which leads to zero cost.

If software does what is required and will continue to do that from now until eternity - what is the point in re-design.

Its not as if accounting theory has changed much in the last 500 years.