Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase «««123

query help needed Expand / Collapse
Author
SSCarpal Tunnel

SSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal TunnelSSCarpal Tunnel

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Today @ 8:54 AM
Lynn Pettis (5/15/2014)
It is your style. Just reading it screams that you are always right and everyone else is wrong.

Lynn Pettis (5/15/2014)
I have been working and learning about SQL Server for over 15 years now, and I know I still have more to learn and discover about it. And I plan on using the system to its fullest which means I will use the local dialect (T-SQL) to get the most from the system. If this means rewriting the code if it has to be ported to PostgreSQL or Oracle at some point, so be it.

Lynn Pettis (5/15/2014)
You may have much to teach even me but your style simply turns me off. Which is why I won't even buy or read your books or come to watch you at conferences. Maybe if you made an effort to be nicer, more approachable online I might consider changing my attitude.

+1000 on each point

Tally Tables - Performance Personified
String Splitting with True Performance
Best practices on how to ask questions
Post #1571517
Posted Friday, May 16, 2014 3:51 PM

SSCommitted

SSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommittedSSCommitted

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Yesterday @ 10:38 AM
Views aren't "the Law of Proximity at the extreme", they're just code obfuscation. They won't allow you to easily identify the involved objects. 

I disagree. Do you understand that a VIEW is a virtual table? It is just as much a schema object as a base table. I think they are underused (along with DEFAULT, and CHECK() clauses, that is another topic).