Click here to monitor SSC
SQLServerCentral is supported by Red Gate Software Ltd.

Home       Members    Calendar    Who's On

Add to briefcase 123»»»

Flat File Source -> DB table overwrite in T-SQL 2008R2 Expand / Collapse
Author
SSC Rookie

SSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC Rookie

Group: General Forum Members
Last Login: Tuesday, August 12, 2014 9:29 AM
Hello SQLSC,

I am extremely new to SQL. As you can tell is my first post on the forum, I have a feeling we are going to get to know each other very well

I have been tasked to use a flat file source -> overwrite a table on a 2008R2 SQL database with the data in the flat file source. I am able to utilize BIDS to create a new table in which my data can upload to no problem. I cannot however overwrite the table that it needs to go. It seems to run in bids no problem with no errors. Any detailed help would be much appreciated.

Thank you and have a nice day.
Post #1477191
Posted Wednesday, July 24, 2013 11:51 AM

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Last Login: Thursday, May 15, 2014 5:11 PM
Not entirely clear what the issue is..

In your process are you needing to drop the table then load it? Or do you just need to clear the table? Please go into additional detail.

CEWII
Post #1477192
Posted Wednesday, July 24, 2013 11:58 AM
SSC Rookie

SSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC RookieSSC Rookie

The flat file data needs to replace the data in the columns of the database table.
The table in the database has column names that the flat file does not as well.
Post #1477193
Posted Wednesday, July 24, 2013 12:09 PM

SSCertifiable

SSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiableSSCertifiable

Ok, so I read that as you need to empty the destination table.